Solar Superstorms Could Knock Out Satellites For a Decade

September 16, 2011


Artist renditions of the Van Allen Radiation Belt, a tube of charged particles (plasma) that surrounds the planet and is kept in place by Earth’s magnetic field.

Many of the orbiting satellites that are crucial to the economy and modern life could be knocked silent for up to a decade if the sun were to spew massive amounts of charged particles toward Earth, as it has in the past.

Geophysicist Yuri Shprits, of the University of California, Los Angeles, made that warning after studying how such large solar storms would affect the protective radiation belts around Earth.

Writing in the journal Space Weather, he said that Earth’s natural buffers against intense solar radiation, the Van Allen Radiation Belts, could be virtually obliterated for a decade during a solar superstorm.

Such an event happened in 1859, when radiation reached Earth’s surface and caused parts of the then-fledgling telegraphic network to spark, and even function once batteries were removed.

Such a storm today could drastically shorten the life of most low-earth-orbit satellites used for communication and navigation, Shprits warns.

And it could take up to 10 years for the planet’s protective layers to heal to the point unshielded satellites, and even electronics on Earth, would no longer be in danger.

Graphics: NASA

via Solar Superstorms Could Knock Out Satellites For a Decade.

15 thoughts on “Solar Superstorms Could Knock Out Satellites For a Decade

  1. Enjoying songs is definitely just like sipping the excellent glass of wines in addition to this does indeed not necessarily make any difference whatever kind associated with new music everyone choose so that you can hear for you to.

  2. Photo Watch says:

    The heart of your writing while appearing reasonable in the beginning, did not really work properly with me personally after some time. Someplace throughout the sentences you actually were able to make me a believer unfortunately just for a while. I however have a problem with your jumps in assumptions and you might do well to fill in those breaks. If you can accomplish that, I could certainly end up being amazed.

  3. Moncler Sale says:

    I’ll pause my tale right here.

  4. There is obviously a whole lot to understand about this. I think you made some beneficial points in Features also.Retain working ,fantastic occupation!

  5. Arnold Buman says:

    “France Telecom (FTE FP) CEO: Apple (AAPL) iPhone 5 to launch October 15, CNet reports”

  6. Fantastic submit. I’m struggling with several these issues.

  7. {The|The very} {crux|heart|core|root} of your writing {while|whilst} {sounding|appearing} {agreeable|reasonable} {initially|at first|in the beginning|originally}, did {not|not really} {sit|work|settle} {well|properly|perfectly|very well} with {me|me …

    Throughout the great scheme of things you receive a B- for effort and hard work. Exactly where you confused me was first in your details. As as the maxim goes, the devil is in the details… And it couldn’t be more correct in this article. Having said…

  8. Hello there there, I discovered your blog site via Yahoo while looking for any related matter, your website web page arrived up, it looks terrific. Ive bookmarked it in my bookmarks.

  9. 離婚證人 says:

    This recorded a piece of me! Eagle Air is a novice looking to be free to stroll all the exhibitions “Life is to learn not to get …”I like this sentence, very healthy outlook on life: You do not get a satisfactory cause; is learned How closer to happiness. You do not get the victory; is to learn how to avoid failure. You do not get the final result you want; that things will not be satisfactory to learn …

  10. Make sure you hold on submitting these types of superior article content as it is a scarce point to locate as of late. I’m constantly seeking on the internet for storys which will help me. seeing ahead to a different excellent web site. Great luck to your creator! all of the most effective!

  11. Way neat, some legitimate details! I value you producing this short article accessible, the remainder of the internet site can also be substantial good quality. Possess a exciting.

  12. I do love the manner in which you have framed this specific problem plus it does indeed supply me some fodder for consideration. However, through what precisely I have seen, I really hope as the reviews pack on that people keep on issue and don’t get started upon a soap box involving some other news of the day. Yet, thank you for this excellent piece and though I can not necessarily concur with this in totality, I value your point of view.

  13. Whats Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled on this I’ve observed Its absolutely useful and it’s aided me out loads. I hope to contribute & aid other users like its aided me. Very good task.

  14. Coach Outlet says:

    Outstanding guide above yet again. I’m wanting ahead for much more updates.

Leave a Reply

